Alvin Plantinga wins the Templeton Prize

Author: Christine Grandy

The Templeton Prize, valued at  approximately $1.4 million, is one of the world's largest annual awards given to an individual. It is meant to honor "a living person who has made an exceptional contribution to affirming life’s spiritual dimension, whether through insight, discovery, or practical works." Plantinga, the most important philosopher of religion of the last century, taught in the Philosophy Department at Notre Dame for almost 30 years before retiring in 2010 and is the John A. O’Brien Professor of Philosophy Emeritus at the Notre Dame. Plantinga was the second Director of the Center for the Philosophy of Religion, and under his leadership Notre Dame became the word leader in the philosophy of religion. More here: Read More

Professor Michael Rea gives Gifford Lectures

Author: Christine Grandy

Professor Michael Rea gave this years Gifford Lectures held at University of St. Andrews from March 27th - April 5th. Past and present Notre Dame faculty to give the lectures include Alasdair MacIntyre, Alvin Plantinga, and Peter van Inwagen. The Gifford Lectures are the most prestigious lectures in the world for the philosophy of religion and philosophical theology. You can find Prof. Rea's full lectures here Read More

Prof. Kourany receives Gender Studies Program’s Marian Mullin Hancock Teaching Award

Author: Christine Grandy

Prof. Janet Kourany has been selected as the second recipient of the Gender Studies Program’s Marian Mullin Hancock Teaching Award.  

"Dr. Kourany’s students described her as a “generous and dedicated mentor” who expresses a genuine interest in her students and cares for them “both in the classroom and outside of it.” Students wrote that her classes – on topics of feminist philosophy of science and feminist epistemology, as well as the philosophy of gender and sexual difference itself – were “extremely unique, captivating, and well thought out.” She is one of the “strongest and most innovative teachers” in her department.  Her former students also noted how challenging Dr. Kourany's courses are. One student described the specific approach that they felt made Dr. Kourany such a phenomenal professor:  “We never knew the nature of her philosophical commitments. She constantly assumed a contrary position to serve the foil for one’s claim, which shifted the focus away from trying to provide the ‘right’ answer and toward a more comprehensive understanding of one’s own argument.”  Read More

Paul Blaschko wins Outstanding Graduate Student Teacher Award

Author: Christine Grandy

This award recognizes graduate students who demonstrate excellent teaching at Notre Dame. Each recipient will receive an award certificate presented by Dr. Laura Carlson, Vice President and Associate Provost, Dean of the Graduate School. Congratulations, Paul! 



  Read More

Aaron Wells wins Markus Herz Prize

Author: Christine Grandy

Aaron Wells won the Markus Herz Prize from the North American Kant Society for his paper "Mechanical Inexplicability and Extensive Magnitudes in Kant’s Critique of Judgment." This is an award given every year to the best graduate student paper presented at one of the regional meetings of the NAKS. Aaron is the second consecutive Notre Dame graduate student to win the prize (Naomi Fisher won in 2015), and the fourth Notre Dame student to win in the last 8 years. Good work, Aaron! Read More

Therese Cory receives fellowship at the National Humanities Center

Author: Christine Grandy

What conceptual models shape our thinking about the mind and its activities or experiences?  The project is to recover a neglected model of the mind in Thomas Aquinas, according to which knowing is construed in terms of the realization, in the human knower, of a certain kind of being with certain exotic properties.  By examining the philosophical implications of this "metaphysics of intellect," the book will provide new perspective on Aquinas's approach to intentionality, mental representation, and consciousness--and show a surprising degree of Neoplatonism in his philosophy of mind. Read More

Professor Sean Kelsey Awarded NEH Fellowship

Author: Christine Grandy

Professor Sean Kelsey has been awarded a (very prestigious and competitive) NEH Fellowship for the 2017-18 academic year for his research into Aristotle's De Anima. Congratulations, Sean! More here.


Kelsey Read More

Prof. Robert Audi awarded the APA's 2016 Quinn Prize

Author: Christine Grandy

The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Professor Robert Audi (University of Notre Dame) has been awarded the 2016 Quinn Prize, the APA’s highest honor for service to the profession. Full story here.


Audi Read More

Grace Watkins named Rhodes Scholar

Author: Christine Grandy

University of Notre Dame seniors Christa Grace Watkins and Alexis Doyle have been selected to the United States Rhodes Scholar Class of 2017. Watkins, a native of Blacksburg, Virginia, and Doyle, of Los Altos, California, are two of 32 Rhodes Scholars selected from a pool of 882 candidates who had been endorsed by their colleges and universities. They are Notre Dame’s 18th and 19th Rhodes Scholars and will commence their studies at Oxford University in October. This marks the first time Notre Dame has had Rhodes Scholars in three consecutive years and the third time the University has had two in a single year. It also is the first time that Notre Dame has had two women chosen in the same year. Full article here Read More