News » Archives » May 2017

Prof. Nicholas Teh Receives a 2017 Global Gateway Faculty Award

Author: Christine Grandy

Congratulations to Nicholas Teh for winning one of four research groups with grants from the Global Gateway Faculty Research Awards (GGFRA) for his work at the London Global Gateway titled “New Directions in Space, Time, and Matter: A Research Initiative by the University of Notre Dame-University of London Philosophy of Science Consortium.”  Full article here Read More

Congratulations to Alex Stern!

Author: Christine Grandy

Grad Student, Alex Stern, has received a very prestigious and competitive yearlong Post-doctoral Research Fellowship from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) to work at the Goethe University in Frankfurt, beginning fall 2017. In addition, his dissertation ‘Fallen Language: Benjamin and Wittgenstein on the Aesthetics of Meaning’ (supervised by Fred Rush) has been accepted for publication by Harvard University Press, and will be published in 2018. Well done, Alex!  Read More

Michael Rea named John A. O'Brien Chair of Philosophy

Author: Christine Grandy

Prof. Michael Rea has just been named John A. O'Brien Chair of Philosophy. This is the oldest endowed chair at Notre Dame, and is especially fitting in this case, since it was previously held by Mike's dissertation director, Al Plantinga. 

Congratulations, Mike!



  Read More