News » Archives » 2016

Professor Sean Kelsey Awarded NEH Fellowship

Author: Christine Grandy

Professor Sean Kelsey has been awarded a (very prestigious and competitive) NEH Fellowship for the 2017-18 academic year for his research into Aristotle's De Anima. Congratulations, Sean! More here.


Kelsey Read More

Prof. Robert Audi awarded the APA's 2016 Quinn Prize

Author: Christine Grandy

The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Professor Robert Audi (University of Notre Dame) has been awarded the 2016 Quinn Prize, the APA’s highest honor for service to the profession. Full story here.


Audi Read More

Grace Watkins named Rhodes Scholar

Author: Christine Grandy

University of Notre Dame seniors Christa Grace Watkins and Alexis Doyle have been selected to the United States Rhodes Scholar Class of 2017. Watkins, a native of Blacksburg, Virginia, and Doyle, of Los Altos, California, are two of 32 Rhodes Scholars selected from a pool of 882 candidates who had been endorsed by their colleges and universities. They are Notre Dame’s 18th and 19th Rhodes Scholars and will commence their studies at Oxford University in October. This marks the first time Notre Dame has had Rhodes Scholars in three consecutive years and the third time the University has had two in a single year. It also is the first time that Notre Dame has had two women chosen in the same year. Full article here Read More

The Experience Project awards $650,000 in second round of research funding

Author: Christine Grandy

More than $650,000 has been awarded to 15 projects in the second year of a research collaboration aimed at building new understanding about how religious and transformative experiences occur and shape lives.  It is co-directed by Michael Rea, a professor of philosophy, and Samuel Newlands, the William J. and Dorothy K. O’Neill Collegiate Associate Professor in Philosophy—both of the University of Notre Dame’s College of Arts and Letters—and L.A. Paul, a professor of philosophy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s College of Arts and Sciences. Read More

Philosophy Major, Grace Watkins, named 2016 Truman Scholar

Author: Catherine DeFauw

Congratulations to Grace Watkins, a junior philosophy major on being selected as a 2016 Truman Scholar. Established in 1975 as a living memorial to President Harry S. Truman, the prestigious scholarship includes $30,000 in graduate study funds, priority admission and supplemental financial aid at select institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and internship opportunities within the federal government. For more information Read More

Karl Ameriks voted 4th best Kant Scholar of the post-war era

Author: Catherine DeFauw

Out of 40 candidates, 320 voters picked our own Karl Ameriks as the 4th best Kant scholar of the post-war era.  
For more information:


  Read More

Michael Rea selected as 2017 speaker at the Gifford Lectures

Author: Catherine DeFauw

University of Notre Dame philosophy Professor Michael Rea has been invited as speaker March 27-April 7, 2017 for the prestigious and historic Gifford Lectures at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland. Established in the late 19th century by Lord Gifford, a senator of the College of Justice in Scotland, the first lectures were delivered in 1888 and since then the series has garnered an international reputation for excellence. Read More Read More

Therese Scarpelli Cory Wins Prestigious Journal Prize

Author: Catherine DeFauw

The Journal of the History of Philosophy Board of Directors  awards an annual prize of $1,500 for the best contribution to the Articles section of the Journal. We are pleased to announce that the winner of the eleventh-annual prize is Therese Scarpelli Cory’s “Rethinking Abstractionism: Aquinas’s Intellectual Light and Some Arabic Sources” (vol. 53, no. 4: 607–46). Read More