Upcoming Events By Year

« 2017 »

Fri Jan 27, 2017

Wed Feb 1, 2017

Fri Feb 3, 2017

Thu Feb 9, 2017

Fri Feb 17, 2017

Fri Feb 24, 2017

Mon Feb 27, 2017

Fri Mar 24, 2017

Lunchtime talk: Rebecca Chan

-

Location: 220 Malloy Hall

The Problem of Self-Transformation

 

From the standpoint of self-interest, is it rational for me to prefer to become someone who is radically different from my current self rather than someone who feels connected to who I currently am? Should my answer to this question depend on value considerations associated with the potential ways my life might go? These questions—which constitute what I call the problem of self-transformation—are the focus of my paper. In attempting to answer these questions, I hope to show (i) that value considerations underdetermine what preferences agents ought to have in decisions involving self-transformation, (ii) that considerations grounded in the will of an agent are needed to determine rational preferences in these decisions, and (iii) that there is a distinction between who agents are practically and who they are metaphysically with the former being what matters for self-interest.…

Colloquium: Alison Simmons (Harvard)

-

Location: 129 DeBartolo

Alison Simmons, the Samuel H. Wolcott Professor of Philosophy at Harvard will present a lecture on "Descartes and the Modern Mind" at 3 p.m. on Friday, March 24 in DeBartolo Hall 129. A reception will follow in the second floor lounge in Malloy Hall. 

Thu Mar 30, 2017

Fri Mar 31, 2017

Lunchtime Talk: Nevin Climenhaga

-

Location: 220 Malloy

"Infallibilism without Skepticism?"

 

I argue that key tenets of Timothy Williamson's "knowledge-first" epistemology are inconsistent with Williamson's anti-skepticism. More specifically, I argue that Williamson's thesis that whatever we know is part of our evidence implies that we cannot gain knowledge through ampliative inference, and his thesis that knowledge is a mental state implies that we cannot have knowledge of the future. Williamson must thus either give up these theses or embrace a moderate skepticism about what we can know.…

Thu Apr 6, 2017

Fri Apr 7, 2017

Lunchtime Talk: Jack Himelright

-

Location: 220 Malloy Hall

"Paraphrasing Away Properties of Concrete Objects"

 

Jack Himelright

Austere nominalists hold that there are no abstract objects whatsoever. One particularly difficult problem austere nominalists confront is that we say things all the time that seemingly entail that there are abstract objects and that, in combination with claims about concrete objects and logical principles, enable us to come to specific conclusions about concrete objects in ways essential for nearly every domain of inquiry. Austere nominalists seem forced to either give up on doing any serious investigation by disavowing abstract discourse or else contradict themselves by exclaiming their nominalism. In response to this problem, I will present a strategy nominalists can use to get by without saying things that entail that there are properties of concrete objects, relying only on a small number of additional ideological primitives and truth-preserving principles. This strategy lays the foundation for a more general strategy for avoiding commitment to several kinds of abstract object.…

Fri Apr 21, 2017

Tue Apr 25, 2017

Wed Apr 26, 2017

MAP Event: Rebecca Chan

-

Location: 220 Malloy

"What's wrong with telling someone else's story?


Recent works in fiction and non-fiction have sparked controversy over when, if ever, it is appropriate for an author to tell a story about a group (or person of a group) to which the author does not belong. For instance, white writers draw criticism for creating works of fiction involving protagonists of color. Even in the domain of non-fiction, Reza Aslan is criticized for being a non-Christian biographer of Christ.…

Fri Apr 28, 2017

Sat May 6, 2017

Wed May 10, 2017

Tue Jun 6, 2017

Fri Jul 7, 2017

Mon Jul 10, 2017

Tue Jul 18, 2017

Sat Oct 21, 2017

Saturday Scholars: God and the Good Life - Notre Dame's Innovative New Way of Teaching the Big Questions

-

Location: Annenberg Auditorium, Snite Museum of Art

You are invited to experience an intimate discussion with Notre Dame’s most engaging faculty speakers on some of the most pressing and fascinating issues of our times. Each lecture and Q&A is presented on a “home game” Saturday.

“God and the Good Life: Notre Dame’s Innovative New Way of Teaching the Big Questions” is presented by Meghan Sullivan